Leicester Comedy Festival 2016 Prelude

dave_logo
Last  year was the first time I’ve really gone nuts on the Leicester Comedy Festival and I had a brilliant time, seeing Josie Long, Stewart Lee, Count Arthur Strong, Dylan Moran, Sara Pascoe, Sarah Millican (Q & A), Hal Cruttenden, Tom Allen, Mr B The Gentleman Rhymer and Angela Barnes. The festival has so many great shows to choose from at all sorts of prices; some are even free.
This year I’m going to a fair few shows again and will be reporting back on my blog with reviews.
If you are fairly local to Leicester I can’t encourage you enough to check out what’s on this year over the next three weeks, from big name comedians to stars of the future. The website http://www.comedy-festival.co.uk/ has all the info you need, although it can be a little fiddly to navigate. The brochures are available from various places like Curve and other venues, but also from the Tourist Information Centre.
As well as the big venues like Curve and De Montfort Hall there are also many other places like Firebug, The Cookie, The Globe putting on shows so there are all sorts going on all over the city.
Some of the comedians I’m going to see are people who have performed at Loughborough’s Just The Tonic nights at the Town Hall which was a great way to check them out doing shorter sets so I’d be able to look out for their full shows in Leicester the following February. As with all my reviews, I’m not here to slag people off so if I see someone I don’t like then I probably won’t mention it, but I do tend to book to see people I know I’ll like so that’s unlikely to happen. All my reviews are about is sharing my enthusiasm for people who I think are really brilliant.
Let the japes commence!

About paulcarden

I am a writer and performer from The Midlands, UK.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

