Leicester Comedy Festival 2016: Gay Comedy Night

image

For tonight’s show I was joined by my trusty companion Celia. This year’s Gay Comedy Night was again at the lovely Y Theatre and featured compere Stephen Bailey with Alice Frick, Joe Sutherland, John Pendal and headliner Zoe Lyons. The show wasn’t as well attended as I thought it might have been which was a shame as I would have happily paid more just to see Zoe Lyons as she was absolutely brilliant. Her material is all at once clever, surreal, keenly observant and always terrifically funny. I’m also really looking forward to seeing her new material gig. Stephen Bailey was an excellent host and also very funny. He’s definitely a comedian I’d be happy to see again. The other acts were all given a good amount of time to show their stuff and it was a very enjoyable night: Alice Frick pointing out plot holes in The Sound of Music, Joe Sutherland’s excellent Kate Moss impression, and John Pendal pointing out the flaws of old-school sex education.  It was great to get one show into my itinerary featuring an interesting mix of acts headlined by one of my favourites.

About paulcarden

I am a writer and performer from The Midlands, UK.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

